California Assembly Approves 3-Foot Passing Bill

You heeded the call to action and the California Assembly approved the 3-foot passing bill yesterday, 54-24, after what is described as a ” raucous debate that took nearly 30 minutes.” So, what’s next? According to the California Bicycle Coalition,

next steps for Senate Bill 1464 include a vote — largely procedural — in the Senate to formally concur with the technical amendments made to the bill by the Assembly. Then SB 1464 goes to the Governor for his signature, probably right after Labor Day.

The California Bicycle Coalition has launched a fundraiser to ensure the governor’s signature. California’s own Gary Fisher has stepped up to the plate to help support their initiative and will go on a bike ride with you if you donate $333 or more to ensure the bill’s signature by the governor. Good advocacy not only takes passion and perseverance, but also costs good money.

If you’re curious on who voted no and against your safety, here is a list of the 24 no-voting Assembly members. Keep this in mind when deciding who to vote for in the upcoming election:

1. Bill Berryhill from the 26th District.

2. Connie Conway from the 34th District.

3. Paul Cook from the 65th District.

4. Tim Donnelly from the 59th District.

5. Beth Gaines from the 4th District.

6. Martin Garrick from the 74th District – which includes Vista, Carlsbad, Encinitas, Solana Beach, Del Mar, San Marcos, Escondido and parts of Oceanside, Rancho Santa Fe, Lake Hodges, Valley Center and San Diego. This is the same elected representative who was arrested last year for driving under the influence.

7. Jeff Gorell from the 37th District.

8. Shannon Grove from the 32nd District.

9. Curt Hagman from the 60th District.

10. Linda Halderman from the 29th District.

11. Diane Harkey from the 73rd District which includes Oceanside. Harkey channeling Toronto’s mayor claimed that “bicycling was getting out of control” and that safety rested solely on bicyclists’ shoulders.

12. Kevin Jeffries from the 66th District which includes Bonsall, Fallbrook, Julian, Pine Valley, and Valley Center.

13. Brian Jones from the 77th District which includes  Alpine, Borrego Springs, El Cajon, Granite Hills, Harbison Canyon, La Mesa, Lakeside, Ramona, Rancho San Diego, Santee, and Jamul. This is not the good Bryan Jones that we all know and love.

14. Steve Knight from the 36th District.

15. Dan Logue from the 3rd District

16. Allan Mansoor from the 68th District.

17. Jeff Miller from the 71st District.

18. Mike Morrell from the 63rd District.

19. Jim Nielsen from the 2nd District.

20. Chris Norby from the 72nd District.

21. Jim Silva from the 67th District.

22. Cameron Smyth from the 38th District.

23. David Valadao from the 30th District.

24. Donald Wagner from the 70th District.

Edit: If you don’t see your Assembly member listed above, please contact them and thank them for voting yes, and voting to make the roads a little bit safer.

Update: I updated Harkey’s points of view thanks to Ted Roger’s writeup.